Posted by: urbanadventurertales | December 3, 2009

I love traditions

I come from a family that valued traditions.  We would do certain things for certain holidays every year and it was always something to look forward to.  Now that I have my own little family, we are trying to make our own traditions.

One thing we love to do is put up our Christmas tree.  Usually we buy a real tree from the tree farm, but this year we put up an artificial one.  I always love looking at the ornaments because it’s like a walk down memory lane!

Here are a few of my favorites:

The ornament I bought during my engagement scavenger hunt!

A Minnie-mouse from my first trip to Disney when I was 6

A couple of cute snowmen we got our first year married from his aunt

A beautiful angel given by a good friend from her time in Burundi

An adorable onesie ornament given to the boys last year

One of my all-time favorites- this adorable baby carriage given to me when I was a baby

An ornament made last year by their gramma to commemorate their first Christmas.  They were sure chunkers, huh?

One of my dad and me when I was little

A classic old truck we bought last year at the tree farm.  Makes you feel nostalgic just looking at it…

The boys had a lot of fun looking at all the ornaments and putting them on the branches.  Though they pretty much would stick about 5 on the same branch until it couldn’t hold anymore and all would fall down.

And they loved putting on the Santa hat and saying “Ho Ho Ho”!

Here’s to a beautiful Christmas season!

Responses

  1. Great job on the tree! It looks terrific. Gotta love those family traditions….may it just be the beginning for the four of you.

    I love the Chef’s hat, too!

  2. Lucky you that you are able to put up a tree. When Ethan and Ian were your boys age, they wouldnt leave it alone. I literally put my tree up, decorated it and not 5 minutes later i was packing it back up. lol We didnt do a tree that year

    Love all the ornaments!

  3. Hi there….I just wanted to let you know that my boys are 5 and still put tons of ornaments on the same branch….we try to tell them to spread the ornaments around but they just don’t listen…lol Beautiful job on your tree!

  4. love the pics! And glad the ornament i got you in Burundi made it!:) I just put mine up too:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

