Posted by: urbanadventurertales | February 1, 2010

My sister

My little sister is 7 years younger than me.  The first 15 years or so of her life we were not exactly the closest.  She’s very sweet natured, but more emotional than I am, and often was a bit more “high maintenance” and needed more attention growing up.  Due to the age difference, I saw her as an annoyance often.

(Don’t worry- this isn’t a sister-bashing session!)

Once she began to enter later teen years, our relationship started to grow.  In fact, I now consider her one of my closest friends.  I truly hope the boys grow up to be as close as she and I are.

She has grown into such a beautiful, intelligent, compassionate, and strong young woman.  I’m very proud of her.  She is amazing with the boys and they absolutely adore her!  Now, keep in mind that she is a 21 year old college student and she chose to drive 3 hours this weekend to spend time with us.  What college student does that!?  And she comes as often as she can.  Thankfully we see her once a month usually.

I can’t wait to see the kind of mother she will be one day.  She is certainly the best Auntie I’ve ever known!

Responses

  1. so so sweet…I love sisters!!

  2. Holly….that is the BEST photo shoot yet! Absolutely, hands down awesome! I know I ‘m biased b/c I happen to LOVE your subjects and think they are extremely photogenic……but seriously…..nice work! And I am also deeply touched by your thoughts about your sister. I can’t even tell you what joy your close relationship means to my mother’s heart. 🙂

  3. i love the pictures, they are beautiful! i hope my girls have all those sweet things to say about eachother one day!

  4. Your mom and dad sure made good-looking children!

  5. Your sister is beautiful and your pics are great!

  6. Couldn’t agree more. I’m so proud of the woman she’s become and I love how close you two have become.

  7. Oh and the pics are great! I can imagine her trying to make L laugh in that one w their heads thrown back.

  8. I love this 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

