Posted by: urbanadventurertales | April 1, 2010

A letter to my sons: I’m not quite ready!

I watched you at the park today… desperately trying to keep up with the big kids.

Scrambling to climb up to the slide

And prove you’re just as brave and can go down just as fast…

And hanging on for dear life on the tire swing, but not crying or getting off…because that would mean you weren’t keeping up with the big kids… (and I’m secretly glad that you don’t realize that your pacifier is for babies)

I realize that the older you get, the more independent you’ll become.  And that’s okay.  But just not quite yet.

And I’m fully aware that you’ve outgrown your crib and are ready for a big-boy bed…and you’re nearing that age to get rid of your pacifier…

But you’re still my babies.  And though growing and independence is inevitable…

Can you slow down a little, cause I’m not quite ready yet!

Responses

  1. this made me tear up

  2. Holly–how beautiful and poetic.

  3. I agree with Karin… Awwww… So sweet, Holly!! I so totally feel the same way….

  4. made me want to cry-so true!


Leave a Reply

Categories

