Posted by: urbanadventurertales | April 12, 2010

Malachi and Lincoln’s birth story: Part 3

During the remainder of my pregnancy, I continued to grow

And grow…

And grow…

And grow some more…

Seriously?  How did I get that big?  I can’t believe how much my stomach was able to stretch.  Just when I thought I couldn’t possiby get any bigger, I did.  I was blessed with two wonderful showers by our families and we received all we could ever need for the babies. 

I had to go in for non-stress tests twice a week for the last 2 months of my pregnancy.  These were very challenging to try to keep two monitors on two babies while also trying to keep them active!  Lincoln decided that he wanted to flip positions about every two weeks so every ultrasound I had, he was in a different position (alternating from head down to transverse). 

Because he kept changing positions, I was concerned with what to do regarding the birth plan.  Should I opt for a c-section or hope that we could do a vaginal birth and he would be in the correct position.  I had never been a woman that had a deep desire for a natural birth experience, so having a c-section was no big deal to me.  I truly just wanted to do what was best for the boys.  After much prayer and seeking advice, I opted for the c-section. 

On my last appt., Friday the 11th of April, I was still not dilated and the doctor thought it was safe to go ahead and do the c-section on Tuesday the 15th.  That weekend went by quickly as we prepared the nursery, hospital bags, planted a garden, and got the carseats ready.  The night before the c-section, we went out for our final date just the two of us.  We went to the Cheesecake Factory, our favorite place.  Before we could even eat, I felt nauseous and we ended up leaving with our food to go.  I had been having Braxton Hicks contractions from 25 weeks on, but that night, they started feeling more intense.  I wondered if I would make it through the night…

To be continued…

Responses

  1. i remember you that big going for long walks with me!!! crazy!

  2. More like waddling instead of walking, lol!

  3. I can’t believe your skin looked so great even being stretched that much!!! Amazing! 🙂 It’s been fun reading your story. Thanks for writing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

