Posted by: urbanadventurertales | June 20, 2010

What sets him apart

Many of my friends will praise their husbands today for being wonderful fathers.  I know this is true.  I see that fathers of our generation are more involved, helpful, and active with their children than ever before! 

And I’m blessed to be married to one of these men.  But something sets him apart to me.  It’s not the fact that he spends 3-4 days a week watching strong-willed twin toddlers so I can do photoshoots all day long.  It’s not the fact that he is more consistent in enforcing rules and following through with the boys.  It’s not the fact that he kisses and hugs them 50 times a day, or plays games and reads to them.  And it’s not even the fact that he manages to clean the house and cook dinner amidst taking care of them…

It’s the fact that he’s able to do all of this with no example of a father in his life.  He didn’t meet his father until he was 20.  His mother did the very best she could and was a wonderful mother in many ways.  But nothing can substitute in a growing boy’s life like a father.  I know he often questions his ability as a father because he didn’t have that example.  Yet, he’s doing an amazing job, and for this, I honor him today!  

Responses

  1. Here’s wishing the Chef an amazing father’s day!!

  2. I also forgot to mention that the pic of the Chef in the grey t-shirt holding those beautiful babies is my favorite out of all you posted! Great pic.

  3. what a beautiful post! And exciting that he has started fresh and raise those boys with unconditional love and to always know a dad who loves them and always has their back!

  4. Cheers to Ethan today for the fatherhood that is redeemed through him. We have so enjoyed watching his great love for those boys, holly!

  5. how wonderful! I’m teary-eyed. Happy Father’s Day Ethan!!

  6. Brought tears to my eyes! I’m so proud of Ethan – he is truly a terrific Daddy!

  7. That’s great Holly!

  8. a very touching post …and beautiful photos!


Leave a Reply

Categories

