Posted by: urbanadventurertales | October 28, 2010

Ode to my washer and dryer

Living in Chicago, it is extremely common for people to not have washers/dryers in their apartments or condos.  Unless you own a home (which is extremely expensive usually) you are forced to share laundry in the basement with the other people in your building or even (gasp!) go to the laundry mat.  In our old apartment, I had to use basement laundry, which was not only coin operated ($40 a month it cost us), but also down two flights of stairs.  Having to do 5-6 loads of laundry a week, I was very very very weary of this journey.

Laundry is a chore that I truly don’t mind doing.  In fact, it’s even kind of relaxing.  I have my own method of sorting, folding, stacking, etc.  And when our condo had this lovely little washer/dryer combo included, I was ELATED!  I know, I know… might seem very silly and frivolous to be excited about a modern luxury like a washer/dryer, but I can’t tell you how it’s made life so much easier for me! 

Even though it’s small and takes an hour and a half to dry one regular size load, I am in love.  I don’t have to trek up and down flights of stairs to reload.  I don’t have to carry huge baskets of laundry up and down flights of stairs.  It’s all on the same level we live on! 

In unrelated news- pregnancy heartburn has set in.  I had it terribly with the boys.  I was hoping this little guy would spare me.  I got about 3 weeks of feeling relatively healthy- normal energy, appetite, digestion.  And now the heartburn sets in.  Zantac- I think we have a date in the near future.

Responses

  1. Thanks for your thoughts on a stackable washer and dryer unit. Despite the size, one may take advantage of doing laundry without having to use a coin operated machine or going up and down multiple flights of stairs.


Leave a Reply

Categories

