Posted by: urbanadventurertales | January 3, 2011

Reflections on the year and looking ahead…

I’ve kept this blog relatively light because I don’t want to get too personal for all the web to view!  However, I think it’s important to keep a record of God’s faithfulness so we can look back and remember. 

2010 has undoubtedly been a difficult year for us.  Last year at this time I was in a job that was very difficult for me.  The Chef was in graduate school full-time and I bore the weight of providing financially which was very difficult for our family.  The boys turned 2 in April and became quite challenging to parent.  Though we certainly had some enjoyable times, we both felt that age 2-2.5 was extremely taxing. 

I was able to get a new job at the hospital taking newborn photos in May and it was a huge relief, and huge sign of God’s faithfulness to us.  Not only did it provide for us better financially, but it was a much better fit for me!  My photography business continued to grow and to date I’ve had over 70 clients in the past year!  What an unexpected blessing!  It’s kept me very busy, but I certainly am thankful. 

We got the unexpected news that we were expecting baby #3 during the summer.  Admittedly, I was quite overwhelmed.  Between working at the hospital, my own photo business, the Chef in school, and dealing with an extremely challenging parenting stage…I just didn’t understand the timing.  However, I am very thankful and grateful that God has allowed us to conceive another miracle and I trust He will provide us with what we need to parent a new little one. 

At the end of the summer, we were thrown for quite a loop when the doors closed for the Chef to continue grad school at this time.  Financially it just did not make sense for him to continue and so we were forced to find new housing and re-configure our plans.  Though at the time, it made absolutely no sense to us…it has turned into one of the biggest blessings of the year.  We moved closer to my job, he was hired on at the same agency full-time (I work part-time) and we are climbing our way out of debt, living in a much nicer condo that meets our family’s needs beautifully, and in a neighborhood that we are growing to love and have compassion for as we see the brokenness around us.  Another great and unexpected blessing has been the opportunity for the Chef to branch off of my photography business to do one of his passions- videography and graphic arts!!  This is something he’s loved and studied in undergraduated but never was able to use as means of income until now.  It’s very exciting to see God opening the doors for this (more details to be revealed soon!)

I was challenged this morning through the sermon to look towards Jesus to see what God is doing instead of having expectations of exactly how God SHOULD work in our lives.  If we look to Jesus and his example without expectation, we are able to be blessed and bless others.  We look forward to the coming year and where we will witness and be part of God working.

Happy 2011!

Responses

  1. beautiful entry. you’re amazing!

  2. Wow – what an amazing post.

  3. Reading this I’m reminded of some comments I heard today on the radio about Mary, the mother of Jesus. After the angel’s announcement to her, certainly she must have wondered about the timing, about what family and friends would think, and most of all, how her fiance would react. The commenter went on to say that being in the center of God’s will does not always mean things will be uncomplicated; to the contrary, they often are messy and confusing – but that prompts us to depend on God who always walks us through it. You’ve just given a beautiful testimony to that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

