Posted by: urbanadventurertales | February 10, 2011

False Labor

On Monday I woke up feeling very tired and crampy.  I decided to go to work (since I work on the floor I am delivering on).  I started getting Braxton Hicks contractions about 10 minutes apart.  As I continued to work they got to be about 5 minutes apart.  I was scheduled to see my OB at 1:00 that day, so I talked to the nurses and they said to just stay on the floor and get checked instead of going to the doctor.  I called Ethan and he brought all our things up.  They checked me and I was not dilated.  They thought I might be dehydrated, so gave me an IV bag of fluid and hooked me up to monitor the contractions.  Surprisingly, the more fluid I got, the closer together the contractions got.  They got to be somewhat painful, but not enough to need an epidural.  They sent me down for an ultrasound to check the baby.  Everything looked good from the ultrasound.  They noted an arrythmia in his heartbeat so he will be monitored after birth (apparently it’s common and most babies correct within 24 hours).  Please pray, though. 

At about 8 p.m. they checked me again and I was still barely dilated, even though the contractions were coming every 3-4 minutes.  They decided to send me home b/c they could not induce labor any more with pitocin due to my previous c-section.  Baby’s head is very low, but we just have to hope I start dilating.  I did experience some pain and pressure on my c-section scar during contractions which makes me a little nervous to do a vaginal delivery.  I’m going to talk to my doctor next week and decide if we’ll just opt for a repeat c-section. 

I’m continuing to have contractions, though not nearly as regularly. 

Responses

  1. Praying for you and that baby, Holly.

  2. Thinking of you Holly! Remember I’m in Chicago and am pretty free from now through the weekend, so let me know if I can help in any way. (Of course, after that I could absolutely help, too!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

